Monthly Archives: June 2015

Platinum Dancers Campaign Against Poaching

  They have been billed as the best Dance crew from Kibera. They have won several dance competition awards, even made it to the semi finals of the hugely popular regional TV dance show, Sakata. They are the Platinum dancers and their leader is the passionate 20 year old Victor Oloo. Their latest venture is […]

Kenya Government allocates Ksh1.4 billion to anti-poaching efforts

The war against poaching has received a major boost from the government after the National Treasury allocated Ksh 1.4 billion (USD 14.5 million) to anti-poaching efforts. This announcement was made yesterday by the Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich when he presented the 2015/2016 Financial Year budget estimates in Parliament. Rotich said that the government had […]

WildlifeDirect Partners with The Perfect World Foundation

Partnership with Perfect World Foundation WildlifeDirect is proud to announce a new partnership with The Perfect World Foundation. The Perfect World Foundation is a Swedish based non-profit independent organization established in 2010 to raise awareness, funding, and to take action together with animal and nature conservation projects around the world. TPWF has given a very […]

Kenya Airways Informs Travelers of New Law About Carrying Wildlife trophies While in Transit

Kenya Airways Informs Travelers of New Law About Carrying Wildlife trophies While in Transit Kenya Airways has issued a statement on its website informing its customers about dealing in wildlife trophies while on transit. The statement, warns visitors using the airline from possessing or dealing in wildlife trophy without valid permits issued by the Ministry […]

Dr Kahumbu Joins Experts to Write to South Africa’s Committee of Inquiry on Rhino Horn Trade

WildlifeDirect CEO Dr Paula Kahumbu joined experts in South Africa to prepare a letter to the head of the Committee of Inquiry, which is considering possible trade in rhino horn. The letter was delivered to the Minister of Environmental Affairs, Mrs Edna Molewa and to the chair of the 21 member committee, Ms. Nana Magomola. […]